Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
glass totems

Posted by obxnc (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 27, 07 at 11:30

I need help with putting totems together. I have pvc pipe, how do I start with the small vase glued to the pipe, and then how do I add the larger parts. What kind of set up for holding pipe while adding larger parts. Thanks, having a wonderful time with this project. obxnc

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: glass totems

Hey! I wish I could help but I'm a newbie to the T2T thing & still learning (still haven't gotten up enough nerve to try something) but there are so many talented people here that they have me believing I could actually do something cool. I just wanted to say hello as I'm from Eastern NC currently living in Durham. Good luck & be sure to post pics!!!

o

You can ask at the stained glass & Mosaic forum . There's a ton of people there that make totems that are just awesome.

Here is a link that might be useful: Stained glass & mosaic forum

o

Hi Obxnc, I'm no expert, but I've made about 13 so far. I mounted all but three of mine on rebar, the other three sit on the ground.

The main thing with your pvc pipe is that you find a bud vase that will slip down over it.

I put my bud vase upside down inside a larger vase and stuff wadded up plastic bags around it to hold it straight and secure. Make sure the bottom of the bud vase sits slightly higher than the rim of the larger vase. Then I squeeze GE Silicone II clear for windows and doors onto the bottom of the bud vase. Next I put my plate or bowl down on top of the glue.

(I usually play with all my glass pieces before I start gluing to determine what fits together well and in what order I want to stack them.) Next select your next piece. It can be a vase or glass or candlestick. At this point I usually like to leave these to dry overnight.