Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Restoring Small Chest

Posted by lpalta (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 9, 13 at 16:07

Refinishing Small Chest

I am as old as dirt and this is my first attempt at restoring a small chest of drawers. Below are images of my progress thus far. I only own a little mouse type sander and it can't reach into the hard to reach corners, etc.

Should I try using paint stripper and sand some more?

I love the little wood casters but the hardware is quite rusted. What is best way to clean without hurting the wood? The hole is too large for one of the casters, but that I can fix.

I am missing the handle for one the the small drawers so I plan on using the handle from the top drawer for this drawer and looking for a new handle at a rehab store to replace the top drawer handle.

I have to glue most of the drawers as they are pulling apart.

Lucy
iweararedhat@blogspot.com

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Restoring Small Chest

its going to be beautiful when u get done. post a pic

o

Lucy, it's a wonderful piece, and is going to be great looking when you get done. Think outside the box when trying to sand difficult places, what can you use to get into those tough corners? Wrap your sand paper in a small block of wood for stability, or use other household items to do the same job, they just need to be strong enough to handle the stress. Use carpenters glue, it's probably what was used originally. The rust on the metal can be removed with sandpaper also, oil lightly after rust is gone. Or paint with rustoleum paint, covering the wheels first. Do you have a wood workers shop in your town? Try googling woodworkers and your city, may get what you need, they may have better suggestions than I do. Good luck it's a great project, and I hope you send us some pics when you're done!

o