Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! How to DoTrompe L'oeil on Found Dresser

Posted by debramd (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 7, 04 at 11:10

Ever since I read that about a woman using Trompe L'oeil on a vanity table in her bedroom that reflected her personal memories, I have wished to find a way to do this with a find I stumbled on to, an old dresser in great shape.

The one I read of depicted things such as a string of pearls (which had been a gift from a loved one) hanging over the edge, a silver mirror, also a gift, lying on the vanity top, a scarf hanging from a drawer etc.

I would love to do a similar piece that had items which are personal and special to my memories, with the realistic appearance that is achieved doing a Trompe L'oeil.

However, I am no artist. I can do a lot of creative pieces, but I cant draw or paint anything like pictures at all. I wondered about using a sort of decoupage of pictures of the items I would like to have on my piece. I am speaking of printed items cut from magazines or found in art prints that would be suitable representations of the items I wished to duplicate.

I think that Trompe L'oeil, however, achieves its realistic appearance through the painting technique used that seems 3 dimensional. Could that same effect be created from pictures?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! How to DoTrompe L'oeil on Found Dresser

I've seen the kind of thing you mean, Deb--my niece did a tray for her MIL--but I'm no artist either! However this link might help you. It's something called tatouage. I've not done it either but I've been told the designs are exquisite.

Hope this helps.

Kate

Here is a link that might be useful: Tatouage Designs

o

I don't think you will get the same effect from pictures but it would still look nice. Have you considered stencils? I've seem some that have the look of Tromp L'oeil.

o

Here is a link so you can save 10% off your order as well!

=)