Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hi all, I'm a newbie!

Posted by jessay3 (My Page) on
Sat, May 13, 06 at 20:30

Hi, I've been lurking here for a while now. I have recently began yard/garage sell shopping with my Mom. Well, after 2 weekends, I am addicted!!

I have found some really good buys. At least I think they were good buys! LOL! I bought 2 beautiful oak end tables for $15 for both of them together (HEAVAY, I pulled my back out loading them in my van!), an iron plant rack that is about 4 ft tall, with 3 shelves for $2, an old copper watering can for $1, a tall bird house shaped thingy with 5 drawers in it for $2, an iron hanging candle holder that holds 3 candles for $2, 2 antique oak school desks for $10 a piece, 2 oak chairs $1 a piece. All of this is in wonderful condition. I mean, of course it needs stripping and all, but it is SOLID and STURDY! I am sooo happy with my finds today! I can hardly wait to get started on them. But it's supposed to rain tomorrow :(

If anyone has any stripping advice please feel free to dish it out. Well, stripping furniture that is.......

Jessie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hi all, I'm a newbie!

Hi Jessie, Welcome aboard!!! Sounds like you really got some great buys. I love garage sales also.

o

Hey, girl, welcome aboard! Sounds like you got some really good deals. Sorry, I don't have any stripping advice - furniture or otherwise! LOL

o

I have an easy and unexpensive way to strip furniture, get
some Easy Off, that cleans the oven, spray it on the furniture and leave for a few minutes, check from time to time to see if it has started working, when it does, just wipe off .....Ive tried this, i know it works....patticake

o

hi
thought you were addicted to yard saleing ?
get good at refinishing lol
there is a huge amount of imfo. on the web about this for free.
the oven cleaner idea is a good one BUT understand all of the precautions about strippers 'before you use them'.