Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What do I use as a seal to make something waterproof?

Posted by summerc (My Page) on
Thu, May 3, 07 at 14:41

I am new to this fixing up things. My mom gave me a darling little rustic table that I am using in my kitchen for my kids to eat breakfast at. It is so rustic that the paint is peeling, but I LOVE that. What do I put on it so that their spills or glasses don't leave marks on it? Polyurethane? Something else?

Here's the table I'm talking about:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

THANKS!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What do I use as a seal to make something waterproof?

Summerc~ I don't have an answer to your question, just wanted to say how cute your table and chairs are. I love prim and rustic. Love that color blue on your walls as well.
I think a few coats of clear poly would probably work, but don't take my word for it. Hope someone else with more furniture experience will answer for you. Great pic! :) ~Anj

o

I agree, clear paint of any sort would seal it. Just use a couple of coats, unless it is a very thick sealer.

o

You will find decorative paint wood sealants at Michael's or Joann's Craft Store. The one that I like the best is Americana, it's about $5.99 for a large can.

However, just my opinion as I don't do sealing of wood too ofen - I think the suggestion of using a clear poly sealant might be better especially since the table will be used as an eating area for children. I'd put on a couple of coats of the poly. Don't want to take any chances that the paint is lead based.

o

Summer, what a cute table, chairs and setting. LOve the wall colors, the big red star and the wood tone of the railing with the rustic table and red chairs. Very neat!