Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need sewing advice - turning a tire into a chair!

Posted by Allisternofx (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 30, 12 at 13:55

Hi, I have little to no experience with sewing and I'm not the craftiest person in the world, so I'm reaching out for advice. I have a tire that I just took off my Jeep, (I don't know the measurements off the top of my head) and I would like to turn it into a cushioned seat (no arms - it will be for me to sit on while I play my guitar.) I envision getting some sort of round cushion, covering it with a fabric of my choice, and somehow attaching that fabric to another sheet of fabric that would go around the tire. Any advice? I am broke, so this will have to be a cheap project. I literally know NOTHING about sewing, so feel free to talk to me like I know nothing. Thanks so much!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need sewing advice - turning a tire into a chair!

Well, I do have a suggestion if you don't plan to move the tire around a lot. You can just take a piece of plywood or something else round that would fit on top of the tire, then get a piece of foam or take an old pillow and put on top of that, then take your fabric and put it over the entire thing. Sort of like wrapping a package. You could use large safety pins to help secure it under the bottom. That would involve no sewing, but would let you cover the whole thing. It just wouldn't be the most secure thing for moving around. Good luck!

o
RE: Need sewing advice - turning a tire into a chair!