Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I am new to this and have a ?

Posted by mrs.micki (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 1, 07 at 12:04

I posted a picture of desk I rescued from curb shopping and was wondering do I have to sand it before I paint it? I have never done this before and not sure how to begin-I think I have an idea of what I'm doing after the prep work.Then again not sure.Thank you for your help.I am so excited about this.My mother in law told me she I has a hutch I can have and it needs some work also.So this could be the beginnig of something new for me.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I am new to this and have a ?

I posted a msg to you in your other post Mrs. Micki. I'd be grabbing your MIL's hutch in a jiffy. There are others on here that can be you better advice than I can when it comes to finishing wood/furniture. It is a lot of work but can be so beneficial when you end up with a fantastic piece that you did yourself.

Sal

o

When ever you have a piece of finished wood you should sand to remove the glaze that covers the piece and protects it if you are planning on painting it. Removing the glaze gives the paint something to adhere to. A elecrtic plam sander works great. It's small enough you can manage it but faster than hand sanding.
UNfinished wood should be primed before painting and prepainted wood which you have no idea what kind of paint you are dealing with should be sanded then primed.
Remember after sanding to use a tack cloth to remove all the grit left behind.

o

I believe that if you don't sand it, the new paint won't stick to the wood and it will chip off easily.
that's what happened to my deck, I didn't sand some spots that seemed smooth enough, and the paint started peeling off after a month!!!

o

I agree with everyone else, prime!

Debbie in Florida

o