Return to the Trash To Treasure Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
need ideas for old quilts and doilies

Posted by littlelight (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 26, 06 at 14:57

This is my first time posting here...
I love to re-invent old stuff and usually sell the items in a consignment shop. I find myself stumped and was looking for ideas. I have a bunch of worn quilts and doilies and need a clever idea for them, any ideas?

Thanks, Kristin

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: need ideas for old quilts and doilies

As for the quilts, you can put bits of them into screen frames and make room dividers. Use them to upholster the tops of old footstools.

Don't have any ideas for the doilies.

o

I've seen where they use pieces of quilts or doilies in making of primitive lights. They take a candle lamp and stick it in a old wooden box, crate, or just different kinds of containers, then add a piece of the quilt or doily then add some old things light old pictures, skelton keys, berries, old postcards, or gloves. You could use all kinds of things.
Another idea for the quilts is to make some ornies. Like hearts,stars, or other shapes. You could tea die them to make them primitive looking. Then put them in wooden bowls, crates,or old jars. How about making rag balls?
I hope you get lots of ideas. I'm interested also!
Cheri

o

I have seen bears made from old quilts and bedspreads.
The doilies could be used around their necks like a collar on one fastened in their hands. Or like Cheri said.

o

I think you could frame the quilt squares in a picture frame if they were interesting enough. Same for the doilies.

I saw a really neat quilt a few years back that was made of denim rectangles. In the bottom right corner of the squares, there was about 3/4 of the doilie. Really pretty. There may have been strings of beads and pretty ribbons attached too.

o

I've seen stuffed animals made out of them. Have also seem them made into jackets.

o