Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeannette_gw

Decorative Painting Books

jeannette
22 years ago

Can anyone recommend a really good "how to" book for an absolute beginner in decorative painting? I am currently enrolled in a five-session class , but I would like to continue teaching myself after it ends. I want to be able to paint like the pros, but need a really good starter book to learn brush strokes, techniques, etc. Also, what is the difference between Folk Art, Tole Art, Decorative Painting??

Comments (11)

• BeBe_Giroux
    22 years ago

Hi Jeannette...welcome to the wonderful world of Tole painting (or whatever you prefer to call it)! If you go to this site below, click on the books/packets at the top of page, and then on the next page go down to the 'Beginners' button...there is many books in there and you can click on them and browse some of the inside pages to see if it is suitable to your needs :) Have fun!

Here is a link that might be useful: Artists Club

• kraftymom
    22 years ago

Believe it or not there are differences between all three styles of painting but nowadays it's sort of all jumbled together. Traditional Tole or Rosemaling was and still is done with round brushes to create a variety of comma strokes to create your work. The comma stroke is the only brush stroke used in Traditional Tole with some variations of that same stroke and was known for being painted on tin - but was also painted on wood. Tole has become a commonly accepted name of today's painted folk art. Folk art itself is more what defines a specific time or place of where it originated. Decorative painting falls more into the category of using a variety of different strokes, brushes (round, flat, fan, angular, filbert, rake, etc.) and other tools like sponges to create your work. That's what most people are familiar with these days.