Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teachlaw2

Newbie & Question about sand/seal

teachlaw2
16 years ago

I'm a newbie. I know to "sand/seal/sand" but when I sand the second time it sort of "pills" up. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong. I thought I might not be waiting long enough but today I waited about 6 hours before the 2nd sanding.

Comments (3)

• anjabee
    16 years ago

Hi teachlaw2~ I don't really know the answer to your question since I rarely sand and never sand again after I seal. ha
    I just wanted to say hi and welcome to the forum. Hope someone else with more experience can answer your questions. ü ~Anj

• luvstocraft
    16 years ago

Welcome Teachlaw2, I am assuming that you are talking about doing prep work on your piece before you paint it. I do sand a bit, but not excessively. I used to use a sealer before I painted, but not anymore. I only do craft type painting, so I don't really find it necessary.

As I remember, they used to say to sand the wood, wipe with a tack rag then apply a coat of sealer. Let that dry, then use a fine grit sandpaper and go over it. Wipe well with a tack rag again before you begin painting. Sealers usually dry in about 30 minutes I think.

Sounds like maybe you are using too much pressure when you are sanding. Maybe Painting Fool will see this and offer some advice. She teaches classes and is much more into doing things the correct way.

Hope you will come back and chat with us and show us pics of the items you paint. ;o)

Luvs

• paintingfool
    16 years ago