Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okla_gal

painting christmas candles

Okla_gal
22 years ago

I'm just getting into painting candles and I am loving it. one question, do you have to add candle medium to your paint? I have been and it works great except if you mix up too much paint, it's just lost because you can't scoop it up and put it back into the jar. I was on the Decoart site and copied a santa pattern and directions to paint on a candle and they didn't say to use the medium. they just had the americana acrylic paint listed w/ no mention of medium. if any of you paint on candles, can you please give me some tips. thanks

Comments (4)

• BeBe_Giroux
    22 years ago

I paint on candles using candle medium because it helps the paint adhere to the wax. Otherwise paint can peel, flake, etc off the candle and I like to be sure that what I'm selling is sturdy. I use a wet palette and do a bunch of candles at once so that I'm not wasting paint/medium. With a wet palette you can keep your paint moist for many days if you decide to take a break and do something else. Wet palettes are inexpensive and well worth having, in terms of not wasting paint all the time.

• kraftymom
    22 years ago

I've been painting on candles for a long time and I've never used candle medium (they didn't have such a thing when I got started) :-)

I have never experienced my designs coming off. With or without candle medium, the design can still be scraped off if you try hard enough but who's going to? Realistically that's the only way it's bound to come off anyway. I've never had problems with my candle designs coming off just from everyday handling of them.

All I do is clean my candle first with rubbng alcohol to remove any dirt and oil residue and paint. The secret here is to use a high pigment paint so your paint doesn't bead up on the wax surface. I prefer FolkArt paints.