Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kkscrafthaven

New here :)

kkscrafthaven
14 years ago

Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Kay and I have been painting for about 10 years. I used to teach tole/decorative painting but we moved quite a bit so I stopped for a few years. I missed it so much! Im back to painting and designing patterns and talking to Hobby Lobby about teaching a class. Feels so good to be back painting again! I especially love painting dried gourds. Right now I am learning to carve them. Anyone else here carve their gourds??

Comments (5)

• luvstocraft
    14 years ago

Hi Kay, I replied to you on another post, but wanted to also reply here to try to make you feel really welcomed! ;o)

This forum only has about five regulars posting most of the time, so we get excited when someone new joins in. We love to see pics and hear all about painting. Since you've been a teacher, I'm sure you will have some great tips and suggestions for us too.

I took a look at your "My page", and read that you've even had some designs published by BHG! How exciting! I'd love to hear all about it.

I've never carved any gourds, but I have painted a few. My sister in the Midwest grew them one year and sent me about six of them--I think I have one left to paint. They are a good painting surface and I had allot of fun coming up with ideas for them.

Please come chat with us and we'd love to see more pictures of your work. I'll head over to your site you posted on the other post and check it out when I have a few minutes.

Luvs

• anjabee
    14 years ago

Hi Kay and Welcome!! We are so excited to have you with us! I have a neighbor who carves or etches and paints gourds to sell. I'll have to see if she has a website that I can post. I think she and her husband go down to Texas??? every year to the gourd festival and pick up a truckload for her to use. Anyway, hope you'll continue to come by and look forward to seeing your projects! Talk to you soon. ~Anj

• kkscrafthaven