Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cefreeman_gw

The creamy, antique look

CEFreeman
11 years ago

Hi all!

I have a bunch of furniture and cabinets I want to antique. I'm not fond of the paint-it-on-sand-it-off look, nor artfully applied crackle paint. (Altho that might be another post.)

I'm a rank beginner at finishing, so I'm also interested in looking at the steps.

I'm recovering from a fire, so my home is being made of recycled materials, cabinets, doors, furniture, etc., from reuse centers, donations, piles of stuff on the side of the road. Some I've made. When I can get some $$ together, I'll buy a good piece.

I would like to create some uniformity with all these different finished and unfinished pieces. I realize I'll need to prime, and with some of the really grainy oak, I have Pore-o-pack to fill in the grain. I'm fond of the smoothness of maple.

Then, the colors throw me off.

Do I paint a cream color, then wipe on something to wipe off again?

What would I thin the wipe with?

How would you recommend I create that fabulous, cream-in-coffee feel?

I've read all 18 threads with the keyword "antiquing" in it. I keep seeing burnt umber mentioned. Would this be the standard? Is it something that works with most-to-all colors? Then I see black also mentioned. But that feels to contrast-y in my head.

Anyway, I have over 250 lf of cabinetry to finish. Then I have furniture.

U should see my back porch ceiling. I'm taking apart my fence and it's being put up like one would lay hard wood floors. The grays are Fantastic!. That's another finishing question... Gray.

Thanks for any ideas. I appreciate the help.

Comments (3)

• anjabee
    11 years ago

I'm not really sure on furniture. You may want to check out the Paint forum. They may be better able to help you!

Here is a link that might be useful: Paint forum

• franksmom_2010
    11 years ago

Fancy meeting you here!