Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wachusettgrad61

One-Stroke Painting

Wachusettgrad61
20 years ago

Is it just me or has that one stroke painting been overdone in the past year or so. It seems to me that all hand painted items are looking more and more garish with so much of it around...

JMHO

WG61

Comments (12)

• Grama
    20 years ago

I have taken a one stroke class in Florida when I was on vacation. I wanted a challenge. It was interesting.
    I just started painting last March with trace and detail acrylic paint. I really enjoy it as I can shade and highlight with double loading. Most relaxing. My favorite is on canvas like paper(I like wall framed work throughout my house).

I have painted one stroke on a kleenex box, and a blue wine bottle. They turned out very nice.

I beleive I am going to like incorporating the two styles in my work. I am presently painting a fireplace screen on wood. LOOKING GOOD!!

Is it over done? Probably, but I'm sure Ms Donna D doesn't mind!

Are you doing it? If not try it. It is a little different, but interesting and fun!
    Grama

• Wachusettgrad61
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Hi Grama,
    No, I haven't tried it. Perhaps I should, as I might learn some new brushstrokes. I do mostly tole painting and canvas painting. I actually put down my brushes when my mother died and have not been motivated very much since that time. But I have recently been dreaming of her and that has prompted me to look around.
    Ebay is full of that "One Stroke" stuff and among the ones that look decent the different artists all look like Dewberry. But there are some really bad ones out there too. wow.
    But what I was referring to was that no matter where you go, Donna Dewberry is everywhere, and it seems that individuality is lost.
    I would love to see your fire screen as I would bet it is lovely.
    WG61

• Grama
    20 years ago