Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ttodd_gw

New on this forum

ttodd
16 years ago

I just found this forum. I've been a member of Gardenweb since about 2002 but am usually on the decorating forum.

I started painting about 20yrs. ago but stopped because it was becoming less pleasurable as an outlet of stress for me and became more of a business. I primarily painted birdhouses and decorative furniture. My parents always supported me and pushed me to do more and out of rebellion I guess, I pitched it in my early 20's.

I've wanted to paint again so much but 'life' always got in the way so w/ DH's blessing I quit my FT job in July to spend more time w/ our boys & 'find my art and me' again.

Anyways it's been nearly 15yrs since I painted anything and then out of the clear blue sky last Thursday my 4 yr old son asked my to paint a picture of Rudolph. What a rush!!! I've started my 2nd canvas now & feel so good! I can't wait to do furniture again (my dad builds furniture).

Is anyone from the Lancaster PA area? What happened to Steph's Folk Art Studio?

So here's Rudolph! The camera didn't pick it up but I painted iridescent clear paint on the tops of the snow mounds and dotted it on the falling snow.

Comments (9)

• Zinia
    16 years ago

I'm new to this forum, also. I really like your painting! Would love to see your ideas for spring flowers on a mailbox cover and for summer flowers.
    I'm not an artist, but am feeling creative about decorating a few things around the house. I can't find mailbox covers that I like or am willing to pay for, so i plan to try painting a vinyl magnetic cover for Spring and if it turns out OK, maybe the summer.
    I don't know what paint to use (I posted a message on this forum).
    Your reindeer is so pleasant to look at!
    zinia

• luvstocraft
    16 years ago