Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kraftymom_gw

Newbie here.

kraftymom
16 years ago

Hi all. I just found this board. A little about myself...I am a self taught painter and have been painting for over 30 years. In that time I have painted on just about every surface there is and a little of almost every subject there is. I also enjoy decoupage/collage and like to sometimes combine that with my painting.

I am looking forward to some lively discussions with other painters. As of late it seems we are a dying breed.

Comments (18)

• paintingfool
    16 years ago

You are so right, Kraftymom, I heard Michael's will no longer have painting classes taught at their stores after the end of March. I guess that means they won't sell the paints or brushes. The bigger stores like Michael's and Walmart sort of pushed aside the small shops to the point that there are only a few left.

By the way, welcome to the painting forum. I would love to see some of your work. We have some very talented people here I know you are just going to love.
    B

• luvstocraft
    16 years ago

Welcome Kraftymom, I love your forum name! Makes me think you will have lots of great projects to share with us.

I get so excited when I see a new poster on here--there are a few "regulars" that keep this forum "alive", but at times we get pretty slow.

You and PF are so right about there being very few little shops left, and let's face it, the selection of books and paints at stores like Michaels, Joanne's and Walmart seem to be dwindling more all the time. Gosh, I used to love going to the little shops for supplies and ideas (and to chat with other painters!). They always had so many finished pieces on display to ooh and ahh over--then want to make for yourself! I really miss them.