Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summerf_gw

Confused over paint colors

summerf
15 years ago

Hi, This is my first time on this forum and I cannot believe how awesome it is. I have been using the rose forum for years and was not aware of the tole painting. I retired 10 years ago from the Cancer Clinic in our area and decided to get into tole painting. I took classes and continued for six years and then when the grandchildren came along I had less and less time for painting. Now I have more time to myself and have decided to get back into painting.

I have a book called "The Painted Garden" by Priscilla Hauser and have picked out a project called "A Garden Fence". Three pickets with corn, scarecrow and pumpkins. I have two questions: a) can you paint over a surface which says to coat with clear acrylic spray and has anyone ever heard of a color called turners yellow?

Now that I know this site is available I will be a constant visitor.

P.S. Could you explain just how you shade with 1/2 shade color and 1/2 basecoat? That sounds interesting to me since I tend to be heavy-handed with shading.

Have a good day,

Summer

Comments (5)

• pezabelle
    15 years ago

Hi and Welcome!

Your life sounds like so many of us here...life before painting.

As to your questions, painting over clear acrylic spray, yes you can. I do so in some of my projects where a fine detail may be lost with another step in the painting, or when I am not sure I will like the next step at all. By lightly sealing you can then remove anything you paint next. You can also paint over an entire project for whatever reason, but there I would lightly sand the surface and use a wood sealer.

As to the 1/2 shade and 1/2 basecoat, that is also called double loading your brush, using the same technique as you do for single loading your brush. When I do this I usually use a straight edged brush and when I blend it on my palette