Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gail1055

Painted Chairs

gail1055
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I want to thank you for your help posting pics. I think I've got it right now but sometimes the thumnail doesn't enlarge when you click on it. Oh well for the most part it's working fine. You asked to see some of my painted chairs. I started painting chairs about 4 years ago just to keep busy because my hubby had to work another year before retiring. I have never taken any lessons. Just taught myself from Donna D. books I bought at Walmart. So when it comes to other types of painting I have to wing it. My chairs have been popular and last summer I sold many of them in local craft shows. I joined the Wisconsin Dells Art Association and now I'm in charge of advertising for their big event in Sept. That's a little scary but I'm sure I'll do fine. The event is going to be 3 days this year instead of 2 so getting the word out is very important.

Anyway...here's some samples of my chairs. If the chair has a bad seat I turn it into a planter. I put at least 3 coats of a water base poly on them. Gail

Comments (10)

• anjabee
    16 years ago

Hi Gail~ so glad to have you join us! I love the color choices on all your chairs. I don't think I can even pic a favorite. They are all just beautiful. A few of us here are self taught as well. I'm just barely getting started with the one-stroke. Where do you find the chairs you paint? Are you a TS junkie? I totally am. ha Do you let the chair speak to you or do you just know what you are going to paint on them? Some of us spend more time looking for that special thing to paint on something than we do actually painting. ha
    I'm sure your Sept event will be wonderful. It sounds fun. Will you be selling your chairs there? We look forward to seeing lots more pics and please jump over on conversations and chat with us as well. We'd like to get to know you better! ~Anj

• gail1055
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi Anj,