Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
calirose_gw

Need Your Opinion, please

calirose
13 years ago

I started painting this on a 12 x 36. I liked how it was going, but now it feels to crowded on the left and too much blah on the right. I have penciled a farmer and placed him where his attention is needed at the empty rows. Placing him elsewhere doesn't work.

The thought behind the painting is: One of the smaller children planted their seeds in the stump instead of the ground. So plants will be coming out of the huge old stump.

1. Leave it alone and finish the picture

2 Start another picture on smaller canvas

3. Bring barn forward into crop area.

Thanks

From Acrylic and Oils
From Acrylic and Oils

Comments (6)

• phonegirl
    13 years ago

Cali, wish I could help you on this one but it is beyond me. I have only painted a few landscapes so I'm clueless here. Hope others will jump in and offer some advise for you. I'm sure it will be beautiful when your done.

Punk

• citytransplant(zone5)
    13 years ago

Cali,

Wonderful painting! You are right however. Something with the proportions is not quite right. I looked outside at my fields... house, barn and trees look good. I think perhaps the stump is a bit large.. yes I know.. you want it to hold a child, but it seems really large. Most of all though, it seems the farmer is way too small. When I looked at our fields and the pictured DH standing about where your farmer is, his head would come almost to the horizon. Try it and see. Love your idea, cute story line.

Joan

• calirose
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Punk and Joan for replying.
    Joan, I completely agree with you and the farmer is too small. And enlarging him will help reduce the stump size. Thanks for bringing that to my attention!

• heartsandcrafts
    13 years ago