Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
learningtopaint_gw

All about me

learningtopaint
15 years ago

Hi All

Well here I am!! There isn't really much to tell. I started painting last year. A friend from Ontario came for a visit with her kids for two weeks. At night after the husbands and kids were in bed she would try to show me how to Tole paint. Some of it stuck but a lot just didn't make sense. Maybe it was the wine!!!!

She teaches tole painting also. She showed me the basic things I needed to know. I just don't seem to understand shading and highlighting. I can't figure out what to highlight and what to shade.

Because I am not very good I do most of my painting on Rocks. If I don't like what I have painted I can just through the rock back into the woods. If I like it I keep it.

My husband loves walking in the woods with the dogs and brings me out rocks all the time. I have had to tell him I will only keep the rocks that stand up on their own.

I paint landscapes, lighthouses, and cutesy things. I did a stepping stone for a friends birthday but for the most part they are just rocks with pictures on them.

Don't get me wrong, I also have a room full of things to paint. Boxes, picture frames, welcome signs. Things I can find at the Thrift stores that I just have to have.

I have tried to paint flowers....what a mistake that was. They are a lot harder then they look.

I think a lot of my problem is understanding the instructions in the books. I usually try to do what the book says and then end up doing it my way. Which of course doesn't look right most times.

But with all that said I try to paint everyday. Sometimes I like what I have done but most times I end up painting over the rock until it frustrates me and I put it away and start a different picture. But I keep at it.

So there you have it. A whole book about me. As I said in one of the posts, people tell me I talk to much. And that is why I stay quiet on here.