SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
misssunshine2012

Need some advice ...

MissSunshine2012
12 years ago

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting and I'm looking forward to reading your thoughts and opinions of my situation.

My boyfriend and I have been together for almost 2 years and are recently engaged. I have a 16 year old and my BF has a 7 year old. We do not live together, but are together often - close to 6-7 days a week.

His ex-wife pretty much stays out of my way, although she does kind of bug me, but that's not my issue.

Their custody situation is that his son is with him 3 nights a week (Sat, Mon & Wed) and with the mother the rest of the time.

I feel like I'm beginning to resent the son a little bit and I don't want to feel that way because he's such a good kid and really a joy to be around. Although I will be honest and say that many of the times the three of us are out and about doing something, I tend to feel like the 3rd wheel which is not a feeling I particularly love.

The thing is, I feel like my BF lets his ex have all the control when it comes to drop off times during "the switch" on the weekends which makes me feel like I never get any time with him just to do our own thing.