Return to the Stepfamily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Step Parent Adoption

Posted by hismommytobe (My Page) on
Wed, Oct 2, 13 at 20:33

Has anyone successfully had a judge terminate a parents rights so that they could adopt? I want to adopt my step son. He's 5. His biological mother has never been in his life. She doesn't pay child support and never filed for visitation. My step son doesn't even know who she is. I have been his mommy for two years now. I have hired an attorney and they say we have a good case but I am worried. We were supposed to have a GAL but they never got in touch with us. We have a ton of evidence to show abandonment and to show the birth mother unfit. I just want to hear from others that have been through this WITHOUT the other parent signing over their rights. Birth mother is trying to contest this.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Step Parent Adoption

I have no experience with this stuff, but just wanted to wish you good luck. The child will be so much better off with someone in their life that wants them. Why would a mother who has not been in the kids life for 5 years contest it? Just revenge or something? Makes no sense.....

o

My son adopted his step son. Him and his wife saw an attorney who got a court order for the bio father to pay child support. They knew he would not pay it and they waited until he was far behind in his payments, then took him to court. He gave up his parental rights rather than pay the child support or go to jail.

o

She is thousands of dollars behind in child support. We've offered to forgive all her debt if she would just sign her rights over and she refuses. I need to know that other people have been successful in doing this. Some days I feel so confident in our case and other days I feel like she's going to lie and make herself out to be the victim and the judge will tell us no.

o