SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
amber3902

Thinking of Moving in together - Advice re BF's son

Amber3902
12 years ago

Hello,

Newbie here. I've been lurking on here for a little while now, mainly just to gather advice.

My info: 34 years old, divorced with two daughters, ages 12 and 6. Boyfriend is 41 years old, one 8 year old son from a previous relationship. We have been together for about a year now, and are discussing me and my daughters moving into BFs house. However, before I take that step I want to make sure we are ready.

After reading some of the stories on here, it appears to me that while the step mom may say she has a problem with their step kids, what I see the REAL problem to be is the inability of the BioDad to step up to the plate, be it not wanting or knowing how to discipline his kids, or letting the lion's share of the parenting to fall on the step mom.

Basically I'm putting my story out there to see what you guys think, if you see any red flags, or anything that would cause you to say moving in with my BF is not a good idea at this time.

Here are the main issues with BF's son. He is too smart for his own good. For example, BF will tell son to put away his microscope. Son will say it's not a microscope, its a box WITH a microscope in it. He constantly interrupts and tries to butt into adult conversations. He's an only child and has all the issues only children generally experience: he's spoiled, doesn't like to share his toys, doesn't play well with others, is used to being the center of attention, etc. His maternal grandparents treat him like a little adult and as a result Son thinks he can interject into adult conversations and correct adults.