SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
almitchell_gw

Hello - my first post, just need reassurance!

almitchell
12 years ago

To start, I am so glad I found this forum. I lurked for a while before joining because I've run into some very judgmental people out there and no one here strikes me that way. I just need some kind of reassurance that I'm not crazy - and from what I've read here, I'm not.

I'm very new to step-parenting, and children. I'm almost forty, never had children of my own, and this has been a crash course for me. I'm fortunate that the man I'm with - forgive me but we're not married, neither of us wants to be married again but are determined that this will work, and we live together for all intents and purposes though we each own our own homes - is someone I was good friends with in high school (we went our own ways for 21 years) and started dating about a year and a half ago. We'd both been divorced for about 4 years and he has two wonderful and adorable children: SS, who is 10, and SD, who is 7.

I was worried about meeting them until SO and I had established a relationship - I didn't want to be a flash in the pan to them and I made that clear, especially since the woman he dated before me for 6 months had her own children and that went south. If I was going to be in their lives, I wanted them to know that I wasn't just going to disappear one day. Once I did meet them I quickly grew to love them, and while I made it clear that I am not trying to be their mom, I do want them to know that I love them and care about them.