SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
suzieq_2006

Does a boyfriend's child get in the way of love?

suzieq_2006
17 years ago

I am a recent college graduate. In January, I started dating a wonderful guy who 28 years old, while I am almost 22. The age difference is not a factor in our relationship. He has a great job, a great family, and same values as I do. Things are wonderful between us, and I think it will led to an engagement within the next year. Everything is perfect, except for one thing. He has a 7 year old child. When he was in college, his girlfriend at the time got pregnant. They never married or were together since the child was born, so the mother of the child is not a problem either. The child is a great boy, who really likes me as well. I have just been really concerned, now that the relationship has become serious, that if my boyfriend and I build a life together, will my future kids and I always be second priority. I want him to be a good dad to his son, which he is, but a part of me feels like I'm cheating myself out of having a the ability to be #1 my future husband's life. I am hurt by the fact that I am never going to be the one who can give him his first child and go through those type of exeriences with. I really want to hear what other people in this situation have done. No one in my family has ever been divorced or had step kids, so I'm finding it hard to find someone to share this with.

Comments (53)

• paigect
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Verena, I'm wondering why taking a child to baseball or ballet and leaving the other adult alone for dinner is a big deal. Most people I know do this for their kids. Don't kids deserve to play baseball or take ballet if they want, even though it generally does interfere with dinner once a week? Am I missing something?

Vivian's got it right - - if you are feeling a bit jealous now, you will only feel more so as time goes on. Do some reading on this forum.

• verenap
    17 years ago