SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
imamommy

Easter Drama...

imamommy
12 years ago

Well SD13 was supposed to be with us for Spring Break this year but last weekend, she asked daddy if she can spend it at her mom's. He asked me, I told him he's the parent... do what you want, I don't care. So, grandma came to pick her up and she was gone all week. So, I had a really good week... it's amazing how calm & relaxing it is when she is not here.

However, I've been bending over backwards to accommodate my DIL and son in regard to DGS3. I've been raising him since he was 9 months old & since my son has been back, he's decided he wants to reconcile with her.

Here's a quick background:

They have always had a tomultuous relationship. She grew up in a horrible situation. Born to a prostitute & pimp, she spent the first 7 years in foster care. She was adopted by a cold woman when she was 7 & her adopted parents split up almost immediately after adopting her. Her adoptive mom married & had another daughter so she was treated "different" and there were behavioral problems that the adoptive parents tried to solve by sending her to rehab/camps for troubled kids... where she met lots of other troubled kids to commiserate with. There have been allegations of sexual/physical abuse by her adoptive & step dad. She has absolutely no contact with her adoptive dad who had bought her a car & was paying the rent on her apartment when my son met her. She's never really had a family (or mom) and really doesn't know how it all works. My son spent his childhood shuffled between two homes and he recently told me that he didn't feel like he didn't have a "real" family.