Return to the Stepfamily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Partner's Daughter Returns Pregnant & To Live As A Single Mom

Posted by mark66 (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 23, 10 at 23:43

Hi

I'm in the difficult situation where my partner (of 7 years) now has adult children, and her eldest child - her 22 y.o. daughter has returned to live and is currently pregnant. Her intention is to return and live in the household as a single mom.

I've been supporting my partner's family for the last 7 years. There are 3 adult children (all hers) - 19 y.o son, 21 y.o son, 22 y.o. daughter. The middle child has moved out.

We also have a 5 y.o son together who has started school.

I've had great difficulty living with my partner's children. They have been given great freedom, few responsibilities, rarely contribute and have treated me with contempt. Things were improving as they had started to me out.

Now my partner's daughter has returned pregnant, with plans of being a single mother. My partner's daughter can't support herself, let alone a child.

My concerns are the household will be dictated by the baby, and I'll be supporting my partner, her daughter and her baby.

This all happens without any discussion with myself, it just happens.

What to do ??

Any advice would be great.

Thanks Mark

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Partner's Daughter Returns Pregnant & To Live As A Single Mom

Hey Mark,

You've got a real problem on your hands..

Just a question first:
-Does your partner usually make decisions without consulting you? How has this worked in the past, do you just go with the flow? (Maybe this is why your partner thinks she doesn't need to consult with you?)