Return to the Stepfamily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Boyfriends daughter seems to be driving us apart

Posted by jcp8452 (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 9, 10 at 17:18

I have been dating my current boyfriend for about a year now. Everything seems like it couldnt get better - I just feel that I might have a jealousy problem / fear of what the future holds in concern with his 1 yr old daughter. He talks to the mom for the mere purpose of being civil with one another. He had to fight for visitation rights and paternity test (she didnt want him to be a part of her life). He works long hours and is only able to see her one a weekend. There are multiple issues that concern me and would love any feedback - I am new to all of this:
The reason why he only has her once a weekend (for 8 hrs), is bc she wont sleep in a crib. The mom is severe bi-polar, doesnt work, and has never even attempted to put her in a crib. We have tried and it is honestly impossible, and the mom refuses to change anything. On that same page, when we do have her on the weekend she usually will fall asleep with him, but within that time I literally feel as if I cant move in fear of making noise and waking her up. I can understand that this is not his fault, as it is probably a result of the moms parenting, but at a 1 I feel like something needs to change sometime. I basically feel like im walking on eggshells for the 8 hour period that we have her.