Return to the Stepfamily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
fellow stepmoms...

Posted by danielle721 (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 5, 12 at 0:03

Im new to this, please bare with me.

How do you deal with stepchildren you care about hurting you emotionally in order to feel like they are making their biological mother happy? I understand they miss their mom who gave up all but e/o weekend with them, but how can you make them understand they are hurting us in the process?

A few examples of their hurt towards us:

1. Treating anything their mother has ever bought them like it is gold and in the process forgetting about anything we have bought them and trashing it or losing it easily.
2. Talking badly about their dad and I to their mom.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: fellow stepmoms...

Hi- I am new here. And a newish stepmom.

But I have found that you have to detach from it and not take it personally. Be careful not to contribute on your end to any loyalty issues. I am very careful about things I say.

Remember they have no obligation to like you or things you buy her...

o

I would agree, don't take it personally. However, don't expect it to get better either. ~you can HOPE, but don't EXPECT~ because as long as mom expects loyalty from her children, they will feel torn. Some will stand up for themselves if they like you but they may choose to dislike or not accept you no matter what their parents say/want. They didn't necessarily want someone in their parent's life, so they don't have to like it. However, it is up to the parents to teach their children to be respectful & cordial. If the children are allowed to be disrespectful, think about cutting your losses now.

And no, they do not have an obligation to like you or the things you buy them... and you have no obligation to buy them things or do things for them. They have parents, let the parent's do their job. You do have a right to be treated like a person and be respected in your own home.