SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sandra65_gw

b/friend and son dont like each other, what to do?

sandra65
13 years ago

Hi everyone, this is my first time here and would love some advice as this situation is making me ill with stress. Sorry this may be a long one!

My b/f and I got together about 4 yrs ago after he left his wife and he became my lodger. My son was 15 at the time and I've been a single parent for 13 years his dad was sort of in his life but didnt contribute financially and moved away from the area although he did make the effort to ring a lot and see my son every month.

Ive had probs with my son's behaviour he didnt do well at school and has always been a bit lazy and not done much around the house but this has been my fault as Ive done everything for him, However he is a lovely boy with a kind heart and everyone loves him, a lot of people think he is a lovable 'rogue', not that he has done anything 'rogue'like!

Because my b/f was also the lodger he saw that my son wasnt particularly going down the right road, and has been on at me that I am too soft and let him get away with everyting. I know he's right but it's been hard and it was just me and my son for a long time I had two other 3 yr relationships, and I know that I do let my son get away with things to keep the peace. My sons dad died 3 years ago and since then things in my house have gone downhill.

My b/f and son had a huge row couple of years ago as my son was refusing to do something and I got upset my b/f interveneed and got annoyed with son told him not to talk to his mother like that he said you're not my father and both of them nearly came to blows.

Since then they havent really got on my b/f only speaks to my son when he has to and made it clear for a long time that he didnt really want much to do with him as he thought he was disrespectful to me.