Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suztee_gw

mosaic fire pit

suztee
12 years ago

Hi all,

This is my first time posting and would like some advice! I am helping my son's class with their classroom art project which will be auctioned off.

I have been seeing amazing fire pits that other schools have done and they have bordered with tiles or mosaics.

I have attached some examples I have seen:

http://allinthekiln.com/school_projects

I especially like this:

http://www.beniciaunified.org/turner/auction/2011classproj/bishop.jpg

My question to any of you is how do I do this? What kind of materials do I need? How do I attach the mosaics onto the fire pit? Will tiles or mosaic pieces get ruined from the fire?

I have emailed several people and have had no responses. I really want to do this but need some advice.

Thank you!

Comments (7)

• Calamity_J
    12 years ago

I would contact a specialty tile/flooring store and ask what kind of adhesive they recomend to start. I would think that the ceramics would need to be porceline in finished state also. Hope that helps!

• texaswild
    12 years ago

IMO I can't see any other way to adhere the tiles than w/a good tile mortar, and of course I'll repeat my favorite - Mapei Ultra Flex II, found at Lowes. I agree w/CALAM that the tiles should be porcelain.

• silvamae
    12 years ago

Porcelain tile would be good. However, what do you all think about vitreous glass tile? Wouldn't it be appropriate also? I think it would, but I'm not an expert, so I would like to hear what you think.

• texaswild
    12 years ago

Yep - those w/work too, IMO.

• shrillmtb
    12 years ago