Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chickeemama_gw

Dragonfly spinner

chickeemama
16 years ago

Here is one of my latest project which IMO didnt turn out great, but I guess isn't that bad either.

It is a 6 inch circle with a 3d dragon fly attached with some leaves. It will have a copper half circle around the whole thing which will let the dragonfly spin in the wind and the half circle will have a post that sticks into the ground. Its my first attempt at something that has any dimension in it. I used coppery patina which turned the whole thing an aged rusty color. Not sure Im liking the patina on it. I will be making more of these for Christmas presents so this was my test one to see what I can do to improve on it, which will be to use more vibrant glass globs.

The wings have a copper mesh over them, boy was that kinda of PITA to put on!!!

Any critiques and opinions on this to help me make it better will be appreciated!!!! If you click on the picture it will get bigger for you!

Comments (28)

• sunshine_funshine
    16 years ago

Why don't you think it came out great! I love this chickee! Very creative! That copper mesh is really cool even if it was a PITA. Ya'll know I love copper stuff! I like the patina 'cause it's gonna turn outside anyway and I am not that into "new" stuff when it comes to yard art. Can't wait to see more of 'em!

• stjohnsgypsy
    16 years ago

Looks great to me........................Love it......

• curbdiver1954
    16 years ago

Cool idea!! That'll look great turning and spinning in the sunlight!! What fittings do you use to let it spin?? Some sort of ball bearing race?? I tried to do a copper spinner, but couldn't get the spinning part of the fittings figured out! See the commercailly made spinners at HD, but couldn't find anything at the hardware store.....

Pat

• chickeemama
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks girls Im glad you like it!!!