Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueiris24

Newbie Here

blueiris24
14 years ago

Hi -- I just took my first fused glass class last night and LOVED it. I've never worked with glass before, but have always been interested in fused glass and mosaic.... but what an expensive hobby! Yikes! Any advice, suggestions, ideas from those of you who have been doing this for a while?

Comments (7)

• texaswild
    14 years ago

Welcome BLUE: I learned to fuse glass last winter on my annual pilgrimage to the Hacienda Mosaico in Puerto Vallarta. The teacher brought her kiln and let us play. You can imagine the fun I had, and had planned to come home and buy a kiln. Well, knowing myself, I knew if I did, I'd go nuts and become so addicted to it, I w/have less time to mosaic. We played w/dichroic glass, and I saw how expensive it is, so bowed out of buying a kiln. I did incorporate all the pieces I made into a mosaic. You can do the same. Dive in, and we'll help you w/what we know. There is lots of talent on this forum, and everyone is willing to share their info.

• silvamae
    14 years ago

Welcome, blueiris! You will enjoy visiting this forum. I took a fused glass class earlier this year, and I loved it too! What fun. But - - mosaic is much more economical, especially if you shop thrift shops and buy stained glass scraps at stained glass shops. To do fused glass the way I would like, I would have to buy a kiln and all new glass because our instructor stressed that the glass must all be compatible; otherwise, two pieces that are fused together may develop stress cracks either immediately or much later and might even explode. So since I already have a huge inventory of stained glass and I don't know the brands or the COE of the glass, I will stick with mosaic, unless I win the Lotto. I use stained glass, tile, costume jewelry, beach glass, rocks, and broken china. Have fun and post pictures!

Here is a link that might be useful: Silva's blog

• mzclassic
    14 years ago