Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silvamae

Need help with a mortar/thinset question

silvamae
12 years ago

Hi, all, hope you had a good Thanksgiving. I am about to start the big outdoor sign for South Austin Music and I would like your input on adhesive/grout. I am applying stained glass (opaque white and black) to Wedi board, and then bolting the Wedi board to the old existing wooden sign.

I am planning to use Mapei Ultraflex 2 fortified mortar as both the adhesive and the grout. What colors are you able to find this in? Lowes only has white and grey, so I bought one bag of grey to start out with, using as the adhesive. But are you able to find this stuff in black? I really wanted to grout the sign in black if possible.

Comments (13)

• nicethyme
    12 years ago

Let me qualify this by saying I have never used mortar as a grout so I have no experience BUT! (hah) I can't see anything to stop you from using a concrete colorant to get where you want to go, However the charcoal colorant for concrete will only get you a darker shade of grey, you could then use black Tintsall to go darker.. so that's my 2 cents worth..

• texaswild
    12 years ago

Checking in after all the T Day company just left. My 1 cent in this is: I've used mortar as grout several times. I've used 1/2 mortar and 1/2 grout as grout a few times and that's a nice mixture. When I used that method I mixed half black and half pearl gray for a nice charcoal. Don't know your reason for using total mortar for grout, but IF I were to do that again, I'd use a black powdered colorant in the mixture. In all my experiments, I've become comfortable w/just using plain black grout. It is perfectly safe w/the elements.

• silvamae
    Original Author
    12 years ago