Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicethyme

I love those 3D stars

nicethyme
16 years ago

but man they are soo expensive. So a bit of experimenting is in order. I'm not exactly calling this Rianna method cause I REALLY want to make it a single layer (too much sewing) so I'm thinking drywall tape and sprayfoam, then skim coat of crete.

I'm making 7, 5 for the girls to do at the BD party, one for me and one for my little DD (she has to do what the big girls do.

Color suggestions on tesserae welcome... think 10 year olds

{{!gwi}}

Comments (34)

• haziemoon
    16 years ago

Those are great! Mind sharing where you found them?

Load up on girly colors! Pink is so hot with them right now.

Hazie

• nicethyme
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, I'm making them myself. I studied those metal ones at a store last week, then using a star template found online - I cut out the 5 rays and folded them. Then it was trimming little by little till the fit together again. I used that paper as a pattern for the wire mesh. They're not perfect but I think that's cool. Betting the 10 yr olds will be wishing for a storebought item but this way they get a total original piece of art when they're done.

• Calamity_J
    16 years ago

Wow! Those are great and what a great idea for the girlies!!!

• bamasusanna
    16 years ago

I'd say cram as much color onto them as possible! Give em glass globs, and all your scraps.
    Really neat idea NT!

• livnlife
    16 years ago

Cant wait to see the finished products!
    What fun!
    What's the spray foam for?

• klinger
    16 years ago

Very nice, how big are they? If they aren't too big I doubt you'll need the spray foam .I love those stars too, I have a great big one above my garage door. I put it up and it took my dh about three weeks to even notice it, jeesh.Great project for little uns,
    Cindy

• sunshine_funshine
    16 years ago