Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmck_nc_gw

New questions

jmck_nc
15 years ago

Hi all,

You were all so helpful with my first ever mosaic project that now you will be sorry!!! I have a couple of questions I can't seem to find answers for, or find contradictory answers....

1. When gluing for outdoor use what adhesive? I want to mosaic an old cement birdbath stand. Do I need to do anything special to prepare the surface?

2. What to look for in china/plates to break up. I live near Replacements (replacement china and dishware) and this weekend they are having a "yard sale". I thought I'd check them out to get some materials. Should I be looking for plates only, designs in center or edges, etc.

3. What is the most helpful book for a beginner?

4. Where do people get the bowling balls they use...do bowling alleys just give away old ones?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Judy

Comments (8)

• pghgardnewbie
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Judy!

I am a newbie on this board, too (though I think that I have posted before- been so long I can't remember!). There are so many outstanding artists here that it is hard not to be inspired (or intimidated, in my case). ;-)

I am sure that others will chime in shortly, but I will add some thoughts based on my own learning experiences.

1. Haven't done one in cement, yet, but would imagine thinset would be the adhesive of choice. Not sure, though, so I will defer to those with more experience!

2. What to look for in china/plates to break up.

This really depends on a lot of things. If you are looking for "focals" (meaning a larger pattern or image that will be the focal point of the piece), you would want to look for plates with larger images in the center (flowers, etc). They are most often in the flattest area of the plate, and can be nipped/cut out intact fairly easily. Most often this style will have a nice corresponding pattern around the edge, so you can get more bang for your buck.