Return to the Stained Glass & Mosaics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Stepping stone question

Posted by mad_about_mickey (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 28, 09 at 13:50

I am fairly new to this and have a question.
If I have broken a plate and want to use the pieces to cover a premade concrete or brick stepping stone: do i need to use thinset or can I use GE II and then grout it?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Stepping stone question

Hi Mad, I just finished a bunch of stepping stones, the premade concrete ones. I used a good bed of thinset on the stone then smooshed in jewelry, broken china and other found things. They came out great, I think. This makes the stone really heavy though. Enjoy doing them and post pics when done. Cheers, Vee

o

Hi Mad, all my stepping stones were made with GEII and then grouted. They are doing fine. Been outside for over a year.

Kat

o

Hey, MAD: I prefer thinset for all outside projects. One of these days I'm gonna try the push and sqush method - saves grouting.

o

Can't wait to see them!

o
RE: Stepping stone question reply

Well, it started out as a plate with a picture of a sun with a face on it. i pictured it broken and re glued to a larger plate and then grouted and hung up under my lean to potting shed. I was looking all summer for a microwave carosel plate, at a yard sale or flea mkt and couldn't find one. So I bought a large clear plate and started by breaking the 'sun' plate. Now it appears that the clear plate is not quite as flat as it seemed. That is why i asked about the stepping stone. I even saved all the edge pieces to place around the edge and have one more of the 'sun' plates to break for egde pieces. All I need to do is break a red plate and a blue plate for the fill in....and decide what way to go... decisions ....decisions...Oh- I have done a few door stops out of bricks and tiles and then grouted them. They turned out pretty good. But they were only for indoor use.That was my first use of nippers. Makes hands hurt.

o