Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsb73_gw

Painting My Grout

mrsb73
15 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm new at mosaic art, and this is my first post. I looked everywhere before I found this forum!

I used stained glass to do mosiacs, and white grout. I use white grout because I prefer to paint my grout a shimmery color that accents my piece. I've seen this done by other artists, and I think it is beautiful.

My problem is that I have been using acrylic paint (sometimes thinned, sometimes not) and it doesn't work well at all. The paint does not adhere to the grout and it dries very splotchy and ugly looking.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Am I using the wrong kind of paint? Or the wrong kind of grout maybe?

Thank you to anyone who can help me!

Comments (7)

• daisyme
    15 years ago

Hey, MRSB! Glad you joined the forum with a post. Welcome! I can't answer your question, as I've never used those supplies, but if anyone here knows, they will for sure answer you. This is a great group of people, and very helpful. We'd love to see some of your work. Post a photo or two soon, ok? It'd be fun to see what you're up to.

• theeggshelllady
    15 years ago

Hi, I've never tried painting grout befor, but maybe if you tried using gesso or another primer on the grout befor painting it may help. good luck. I'll bet the shimmery color is pretty.

• lovemosaics
    15 years ago

I always use the cheap acrylic paints and they work great. I never water them down though. They make the piece
    seem really finished and sealed looking. I paint it on thick, and give it a couple minutes, and wipe the glass.
    Never had a problem!..sorry to hear that isn't working for you! You might need to put it on a little more heavy, and let it soak in. I do mine about an hour or so after a project, don't know if that matters. Are you using sanded grout? That might be the problem? Sanded works great with
    paints!

• mrsb73
    Original Author
    15 years ago