Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashrob123

Easiest way to remove mesh backing

ashrob123
14 years ago

Hi all

I'm a newbie to mosaics. I've done a couple of pieces before at craft stores but never had to do everything from beginning to end. Well, I bought some tile online. Some is attached to paper (yeah) most is attached to plastic mesh (boo!). Had I known the pain that it was going to be to remove this stuff I would have made sure it was all paper. Anywho, does anyone have a quick and mess-free way to remove the mesh? I'm using rubbing alcohol now (50% dilution) and it's working but the adhesive is still stuck to each tile. It can be removed but I would rather avoid removing a sticky mess from 1000 pieces of tile.

Any advice is appreciated!

Comments (11)

• daisyme
    14 years ago

First of all, Ash...

!!!!
    I haven't worked with tile like that, but I know one or more of the members here will come to your rescue quickly with an answer. Maybe the answer is to adhere the tile with the mesh attached. Hmmmm I have a lot to learn too!

What's your project? 1000 pieces of tile? Wow! Be sure to post pictures when you can!

• texaswild
    14 years ago

Welcome, ASH: I, too, hate those tiles on the mesh, but you buy what you can buy for the colors. I take the sissors to them, and leave the mesh on. Sometimes I cut them in strips, and apply the whole strip, or cut what I need while I'm using them. I'm thinking that your adhesive is a good thing, so I wouldn't worry about it.

• texasfern
    14 years ago

I too cut them, or if the mesh is a mess (I gt mine used) used can usually soak them in water.

• calinromania
    14 years ago

i also got some tiles on mesh. and i did all work by hand to remove them, but sometimes bits if mesh or glue still stayed on tiles.
    it's ok when you have large projects but what do u do when you need to also cut tiles? like i do.