Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bebob_gw

Side board top Need ideas

bebob
14 years ago

I'm a beginner and a looker in this site. I felt I could never do what you ladies have done. Will it's time. I think I have the courage to start. I will take pictures tonite so you may understand what I'm trying to do. I have been renovating my bathroom, I'm using an old side board with vessel and bowl sink. I have checked around for a top to protect the wood finish. Glass was $600.00 for a 64 X 18 1/2 sheet. Mable is 500.00. So thought how about cermic tile and mosaic around it. Was told not because it would break. Now I need your help. Please think about it till tomorrow when I can get the pictures. It's been awhile on how to post Thank you all you lovely ladies.

Indiana Betty

Comments (8)

• texaswild
    14 years ago

Easy smeasy. Get a piece of 1/4" backerboard (cement board from Lowes or Home Depot), cut it to fit the top of your sideboard, adhere it w/thinset, and mosaic your heart out. Welcome to the forum and to an obsessive hobby, and yes, you can do it - it's easy, and we'll help you all the way. Anxious to see pictures.

• texasfern
    14 years ago

How exciting! I can't wait for the pictures!

• bebob
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you so much for the encouragement. My camera is in sick bay. So hubby will work on it tonite. Have pictures this weekend to you.
    Slow what a great idea. I thought of something like that when I left the tile place but the guy said it would not work. All I keep thinking was he just wants to sell me a 500.00 peice of marble.
    Slow on the worm you made what was the mold? Dry vent to make the curve? I would like to make one for around my poud.
    Have a great day
    Indiana Betty

• texaswild
    14 years ago