Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momma_green

Bowling Ball!

Momma_Green
11 years ago

Hi guys! I'm a newbie. This site and all of ya'lls pics are such an inspiration! I recently started my first bowling ball and i have a question or 2. I'm using a broken mirror that i had and e 6000 glue to stick it on. Will that hold? I live in Arkansas so it is HOT!!!! When i get to the grouting part i'm unsure of how to do that part....any tips? Thank you. I plan on postin pics as soon as i get my darn camera working.:)

Comments (6)

• anneinva_2009
    11 years ago

I have heard that real mirror doesn't work because it eats away from behind. I use stained glass that has crinkled foil behind it so it looks like mirror. i get it at the stained glass store. I use GE II for windows and doors. It can be bought anywhere like home depot or walmart. I have made a bunch of bowling balls and this has worked for me. It is real tacky so it stays in place. sometimes it slides and i slide it back while working on it. I have had my ball for a few years and it is doing well. I take it indoors in the winter.

• wackyweeder
    11 years ago

Its actually the adhesive that can eat the mirror backing off and make it spotty. I personally like that effect-it looks antique. Solutions to that are to either seal the mirror with miror sealant before gluing or use proper adhesive. (Loctite silicone sealant and adhesive for example.)
    The e 6000-I used that once upon a time before I met silicone and it held up very well thru all kinds of weather so it will probably be fine. Next time-get silicone, its cheaper than e 6000 anyway.