Return to the Stained Glass & Mosaics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Concrete Walkway with Mosaic Inlay

Posted by willow-bee (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 1, 13 at 13:52

Hi everyone! You've got yourself a newbie here. I'm looking for some advice on an outdoor mosaic project. I have a concrete walkway that my husband and I poured last summer. It has seventeen 6-inch diameter circular indentations in the concrete, which we created with the idea of filling them with mosaic inlays. I've worked with stained glass for years, but never with mosaic.

I've made two of the mosaics, using vitreous glass tile glued with white glue upside down to a piece of heavy kraft paper in the reverse method. The pieces of glass are extremely, ridiculously small - some as small as 1/4".

My question is, what material would you use to install and grout the mosaics into the concrete depressions? I feel like I've read many different ways I could do it. I've read that sanded grout is best for outdoor applications, but wouldn't be good for the tiny grout lines I've left. I'm worried about the small pieces getting shifted around in the process.

The depressions are about 1/4" deep. I live in Maine, so there's definitely a freeze/thaw cycle!

Any advice is appreciated - thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Concrete Walkway with Mosaic Inlay

If it were me, I would use thinset (mortar) as an adhesive and also as grout. What a cool sidewalk you will have! I love the curves of it.

o

and also meant to say, "Welcome!"

o

cool, sanded grout fits everywhere . I would love to play with filling those depressions with stained glass and rocks... oooOOoo, the opportunity abounds

keep us posted PLEASE

o

Thanks so much for the advice! The guy at Home Depot recommended regular old mortar, so I think I will give that a try as far as what to lay the tiles into. And unless anyone else chimes in otherwise (and please do!) I'll try sanded grout.