Return to the Stained Glass & Mosaics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Glass mulch - adhesive?

Posted by jbug73 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 23, 09 at 12:03

Newbie here - big project - maybe on the fringe of mosaics, but I think you can help...

I have a multi-panel art piece in the lobby of our office that depicts our company's office locations across the Western US - so imagine a fragmented map with 20+ square panels ranging from 8"sq to 20"sq. Originally, I printed the map on photo paper and glued them to the MDF boards. I've never been happy with it and now they are peeling from the boards and fading from UV.

So, I plan to take the paper off and attach cork for the land masses. My question for you folks is regarding the ocean. I plan to affix blue glass mulch (link below) to the MDF, but with what?

I've thought of painting the board with a blue/gold paint marble effect to utilize the transparency of the glass - make it appear somewhat irradescent. (We have some ornamental metal pieces slicing through that would be great to pull color out of.) So I assume I need to use the GE Silicon that is mentioned often, but how will it fix to acrylic paint?

Or should I try to color thinset? Any hope making it irridescent?

The piece is indoors, but exposed to sunlight, so colorsafe options are best.

http://www.americanspecialtyglass.com/landscapecolorchart.pdf

http://www.flickr.com/photos/10248806@N05/3749759918/

Here is a link that might be useful: pic

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Glass mulch - adhesive?