Return to the Stained Glass & Mosaics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Violin/I'm stuck

Posted by texasfern (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 24, 08 at 10:52

I have a string of brass beads I wanted to put around the edges, that is the reason I put the glass on the sides.
I have never worked with silicone before, so my question is this: Can I lay the silicone along the edges and then lay the beads in it?
I used Weldbond on the piece, and it will just not work to hold the beads.
As I said, I put the mirror on the sides to give the beads an edge to adhere too.
Violin Sides

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Violin/I'm stuck

The silicone will work, don't apply it too thick or it will squish out everywhere. Gypsy uses a lot of different tess, maybe she will see this and help you out. You could also use Aileen's Tacky Glue, it sets up pretty fast, I did beads around the top of a shoe I am working on and I used tacky glue and blue masking tape, then walked off and left it to dry, if not I would have worried it to death.
Great job on the violin...Is it for you?

o

I thought I would jump back in real quick, gotta shut the computer down for a bit, storms are afoot!
Thanks for the info.
I'm not sure what I will do with this.
I may put a really high price on it and see what happens!
I have been thinking seriously about doing an etsy shop, and this could be the "focal" item.
Thanks again.

o

Pat,

I don't know the answer to your question either, but have used weldbond and Aileen's tacky, the tacky did set up quickly but I think the masking tape might work with any of those products, help them stick without you having to babysit them.

I love that violin, it is fantastic and the mirror sides really says Wowser!!

Would love to hear about the Etsy shop, I am sick to death of ebay but haven't ever sold any crafts that way.

Take care with the storms.

o