Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
imsunflwr1_gw

Mosaic Sphere Fountain

Imsunflwr1
12 years ago

Hi There!

My name is Marcia and I'm new to mosaics... so new in fact I'm signed up for my first class at the Chicago Botanical Arboretum starting in July. What I want to do is a fountain like this:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/suzetteh/202512139/in/set-72157594148190029

or this:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/rbrucemontgomery/4587127124/

I've been doing a lot of reading here and other sites. I bought a 10" beach ball, the kind in the cages at Wal-Mart. Not a blow-up one. I think from what I've read I'm going to use Rigid Wrap and then a layer of Fiberglass mesh with Mapei UltraFlex II. I saw where someone had "primed" their ball first, but with what I'm not sure. Some kind of spray it looked like. Anyway... then let it dry and then more Mapei to adhere the tiles, then use as grout also. I'm not sure if I should remove the rubber ball? Also wondering how to do the plumbing? I'm thinking after the sphere has cured to drill a hole and use a PVC pipe? Like a said I'm a newbie and have no clue what I'm doing, but that's never stopped me in the past. If you have other ideas or suggestions please chime in! I sure would appreciate some advice. :)))

Thanks much and hope to hear from some of you.

Marcia

Comments (96)

• Imsunflwr1
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I've scouted lots of Burdock plants (weeds) out in the country, but I believe the teacher supplies the leaves. My neighbor would kill me if I took one of her Rhubarb leaves... they never get very big though b/c she makes pies and cakes all season. Yummmm!

• rock_oak_deer
    12 years ago

Yum, maybe she'll share the leaves with you after you learn the process. I'd probably use Philodendrum Selloum which does grow big here and is similar in shape though not quite as pretty.

• Calamity_J
    12 years ago