Return to the Stained Glass & Mosaics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
beginner mosaic class project

Posted by herself (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 9, 09 at 18:06

I've been asked to teach a class doing a small pique assiette project that can be completed during a one night class. My problem is that I always let my project dry overnight before grouting it. Is there an ahesive I could use that is quick drying so they could grout that same evening. (A "safe" adhesive) Otherwise I suppose I could mosaic a sample project ahead of time, and then after they finished their project I could just do a demo of the grouting on the sample.
I thought of a tile or maybe a flower pot for a beginners project, but I'm open to other ideas. I have never done a class on this before.

Herself

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: beginner mosaic class project

according to the no daze mosaic adhesive people you are supposed to be able to grout as soon as it cools off. havent tried it yet tho

o

There is a method using mastic...by laurie mika? where you lay a bed of mastic and smoosh the pieces into it, therefore grouting it as you go-Im not sure how long the mastic takes to set up. Thinset I spose would work too, again I dont know how long it takes to set up.
Aside from that, silicone sets up quickly and even though you are supposed to wait, I have grouted within hours of using it. on a simple flat tile or something it should work. Do a test piece and give it a shot.

o

Exactly what WACKY said was gonna be my suggestion - push and sqush. We'd make a team, WACKY.

o

Then send em to us!lol! You get em hooked...we'll take over! Bwahahaha!

o

Thanks for the advise - I'll try a test project to see how soon I can grout. Yes, after I hook 'em with the beginner's project I'll send them to you guys to reel them in! LOL
Herself

o

Goodluck and please let us know what works best for ya

o

Herself...

Here is a link that might be useful: Conversation (Treasure Hunt) stepping/garden stones

o Post a Follow-Up