Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
addiesue_gw

My first garden project with mortar

addiesue
12 years ago

I've wanted to attempt something outside since I started following Slowmedown's beautiful fantasy garden but too afraid to. I decided I may screw it up but if I don't try I'll never learn. So I pulled some of Slow's comments and went toLowes for some mortar with polymer.

Well, finally, after lots of cussing, fits of rage, and man handling my 50lb bag of mortar this is what I ended up with...it's my first attempt and it's kind of lopsided and imperfect but that's ok. I feel like a kindergartener who just produced her first finger painting...so proud...lol! I can't wait to fill it up with dirt and stick some flowers in it!

Addie

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden Project

Comments (12)

• texaswild
    12 years ago

Well you l'il heifer!!!!!!!!!! How the heck did you accomplish that gorgeous little planter border??????? You've been holding out on us. WOW - looks like you've been doing this for years. I absolutely LOVE the irregular shapes. Tell us your technique. What you call imperfections are what my neighbor called "artistic" when I dug my first flower bed and put down the scalloped borders - w/OUT laying out the lines. You should be VERY proud of this. Can't wait to see it planted, and to see what your technique was.

• addiesue
    Original Author
    12 years ago