Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gcpommom

I'm Back....and I need help!

gcpommom
14 years ago

Hi everyone, it's been a while! I am done with my chemo, and am ready to start a project, it's been months since I've mosaiced anything.

Ok. I am finally going to start on my dd's table. I will be using mesh, which I've never used before. My question is this: if the tile I am using is of varying thickness, how do I adjust this since all the tiles will be glued to the mesh before I thinset it onto the table? I am using 3 different colored tiles in the project, and the red is thinner than the others.

If any of you remember this table top, it was a difficult pattern she had chosen.....so we did finally decide on an easier pattern...a fluer di lis/clock face...should be doable.

Thanks for any help.

Judy

Comments (5)

• gcpommom
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Here is a pic of the image I'm using. I was just thinking, the fleur de lis in the middle is going to be red, I could maybe do that totally seperately and then build up the thinset under it. Otherwise, the only place I am using the red is in the border (maybe a thin border of red in with the black border).

{{!gwi}}

• texaswild
    14 years ago

I hate to see no response to your question, GC, but I don't know what to tell you. I've never done the indirect method b/f, so can't advise you. I love the pattern you've chosen - quite different and simpler than the original. Someone w/surely give you info soon. Only suggestion I w/offer you is: put a thin piece of regular clear glass (so you won't waste your colored tiles) under the fleur de lis - where the thin red goes, and build it up that way. Otherwise, your idea of building the area up w/thinset is a good one also. It's gonna be a beautiful piece. So very glad to see you back.

• gcpommom
    Original Author
    14 years ago