Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hobbygirl_gw

New Here

hobbygirl
16 years ago

hello everyone, I am new here and I have been studying your posts. I am new to doing mosaic art and here are a few things I have picked up: when grouting I need to use a sanded grout, and it seems most people really like the Weldbond glue adhesive. I am starting out with coasters and flower pots. does anyone have any suggestions? One question I do have is do I need to put anything down on like a pot before I glue the tiles down? Thank you for all of the help you have already provided! Shannon

Comments (11)

• texaswild
    16 years ago

Welcome HOBBY: Glad you've joined us - this is a wonderful bunch, as you've noticed, and very helpful. Here's my two cents. I use Weldbond for ONLY inside mosaics, when I'm gluing on a horizontal surface, cuz I'm too impatient to let it sit for a bit so it gets sticky. Most of us use GE Silicon II for Windows and Doors quite a bit too. For ALL outside mosaics I use thinset for adhesive as well as grouting. It is a good idea, although I seldom remember to do it, to seal terra cotta pots inside and out before gluing. I use Quickcrete brand of masonry/concrete water-based sealer on mine. I once did a stupid thing and sealed a wooden pedestal w/ArmorAll - an oil-based sealer, and all the pieces fell off. Hope this helps, and we anxiously await your first pictures of a WIP.

• crackpotannie
    16 years ago

Yep follow what Slow say's ....no weldbond outside and all she say's will help you!!!!!Welcome!

• curbdiver1954
    16 years ago

Welcome to the land of smashing, nipping, grinding and cutting! Can't wait to see your work....we LOVE pics here! Oh, and just remember, even tho slowmedown says she only tells us what works for her and doesn't recommend/tell what to do on a problem project, ANYTHING she's used/done successfully WILL work and is quite likely the best way to go!!

Pat

• texaswild
    16 years ago

Y'all crack me UP!!!

• shrty411