Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soonergirl1968

Mosaic tiles, pieces, etc...

soonergirl1968
13 years ago

This is probably a VERY amateur question (but I am an amateur :) What do you guys use for outdoor mosaics? I've been looking online and in stores for mosaic tiles and they are EXPENSIVE!! I still have some pebbles from my enormous pebble mosaic but I would like to use tiles, too. I have a tendency to go overboard with my projects and make BIG things - if you're going to be a bear, be a grizzly!

When I try to calculate the area of tiles I will need, I'm floored at the cost. I figured you all might have some "secret" source or an alternative I can use. From what I understand, many ceramic type tiles and plates shouldn't be used outdoors? (I'm in zone 7b - hotter than Hades in the summer and lots of ice in the winter) Any economical suggestions? Thanks!!

Comments (15)

• silvamae
    13 years ago

There is a tile shop here in Austin that has what they call a tile graveyard where one can go and dig through tons of tile, some of it very expensive porcelain, and get it for free or very little. Otherwise, garage sales, and if you have Craig's List in your area, check the free section. I just got back from teaching a workshop at the nearby elementary school and they have crates and crates of beautiful swimming pool tile (mostly cobalt blue) that was donated to them by a swimming pool company. Once I stopped at the site of a house that was being built (I saw a pile of tiles outside). I asked if they were throwing it away and they were so I loaded my van up. Also you might check with designer showrooms; it's amazing how people throw stuff away to make room for new stuff. I myself have not been there yet, but my friend bought some great stuff at Habitat for Humanity.

• Calamity_J
    13 years ago